spicegerma.blogg.se

Remington rifle serial numbers
Remington rifle serial numbers










  1. #Remington rifle serial numbers serial numbers
  2. #Remington rifle serial numbers serial number
  3. #Remington rifle serial numbers code

Also they jockeyed year letters to a new starting point in If you find marks on the underside of the barrel, they will more than likely be fitters or assembly marks, which mean nothing as to dating the firearm.

remington rifle serial numbers

#Remington rifle serial numbers code

You will notice the year code repeats itself, but over 20 years difference, so even if it was used on the same model, in all likelihood sights or stocks would be different which would indicate the different date.Īlso some letters were left out if there was a chance of misidentifying a date. So there was a 2 year gap in rifle date coded barrels and the normal consumer, or gunsmith would have to contact the factory for this information.

#Remington rifle serial numbers serial numbers

They planned on using just the serial numbers to tell when the gun was manufactured. They however continued to mark the date code on the end flap of the shipping box for shotgun barrels however.

remington rifle serial numbers

The one on the right again abut with a shorter barrel that I made into a knock around quad rifle with pivot mounts. Both were taken off Remington s, with the one on the left, a that I bought new October 10, This has been rebored to a 35 Whelen Improved. The factory says all barrels are date code stamped, well I have found some that are not, or if they are, are so erratic stamping that trying to decipher them is impossible. Then if the gun is ever subsequently returned to a warranty center or the factory by ANYONE, they will refuse to work on it as an unsafe firearm. No matter which model of 700 you may be dealing on I think the roughness can be dealt with quickly enough.īest of luck - what ever you decide to do - I wish I could be of more help to you.If a gun is returned to the factory as a fire damaged, or blown up firearm, the factory will stamp it as a prefix to their date code with a 4 on the barrel and return it un-repaired. I have only seen the Rifle once but it looked very good to me. He further relayed that he only removed the finish from the SPS's bolt and barrel and the action lug runways were already smooth enough for his desires. So, I also guess that I disagree (but not with a lot of certainty) that the Remington SPS finish is not due to heavy bead blasting but to the applied finish itself?Īllen, I just got a return call from my friend Jack - he relayed that indeed the SPS rough finish is applied and not built in or sandblasted on! I have only owned the one SPS but am familiar with many more that belong to Varminting partners and the crude finish on these doesn't seem to hamper their accuracy or usefullness afield? I could get the particulars on the process he himself did to the Rifle - if you are interested.

remington rifle serial numbers

I believe that Rifle was in caliber 17 Remington Fireball! My good friend Jack from Yelm, Washington bought an SPS-V some years back and simply polished off the "rough finish" of the bolt and action and had a "shiney" (but smooth) Remington 700 Varmint! I own a "G" prefix Remington 700 SPS-V in caliber 22-250 Remington and the action works just fine for me.

#Remington rifle serial numbers serial number

If you could look at the barrel again and get those letters I can date it for you.Īs far as I know you can not get an accurate month/date of manufacture by the serial number letter prefix? Hemiallen: Remingtons are more easily/readily "dated" by the two letter barrel code on the left side of the Remington factory barrel.












Remington rifle serial numbers